The Hague, South Holland’s second largest city, is comprised of eight urban districts. Below you’ll find a brief profile of each, including number of residents, demographic breakout, neighborhoods and more.

aerial view of The Hague

Expats planning a move to The Hague in South Holland, Netherlands, should familiarize themselves with the city’s eight districts before making a decision about where to live. Make sure an area will be able to meet your personal preferences and if moving with family, that it can meet the additional requirements like access to an international school and public transport.

Here is a brief overview of the 8 ‘urban districts‘ (sub-municipalities) which make up the City of The Hague (also known as Den Haag or ‘s-Gravenhage in Dutch).

The Hague Centrum ditrict

The Hague Centrum – The Hague Centrum is the oldest part of the city, starting with the historic old town area and extending outwarding to include the neighborhoods of Archipelbuurt-Willemspark and Zeeheldenkwartier (on the north side), Kortenbos (on the west), Transvaalkwartier and Schildersbuurt (to the southwest) and Stationsbuurt (on the south side). Nearly one in every five residents (19.6% = 103,281) of The Hague lives in the Centrum district. Demographically, it is extremely diverse and includes sizable numbers of those who fall into the highest and lowest income brackets. Residents of this district are 26% native Dutch, 17% expats and 57% immigrants. The Centrum is well-served by public transportation with two train stations (Den Haag Centraal and HollandsSpoor), a bus terminal and every tram line passing through it. Landmarks in this district include the Binnenhof, Noordeinde Palace, Peace Palace, Grote KerkStadhuis (City Hall) and the downtown area.

  • Municipal offices: Spui 70, 2511 BT Den Haag

The Hague Escamp district

Escamp – The Escamp district has grown substantially since the end of World War II. It extends from Rustenbuurt-Oostbroek on the north to Wateringse Veld on the south and from Moerwijk on the east to Bouwlust-Vrederust on the west. Located in this district are two of the city’s largest recreation areas: Zuiderpark (including the newly opened ‘Sportcampus‘) and De Uithof, as well as the Leyweg shopping center (‘winkelcentrum’). As of 1st January 2017, Escamp had the largest number of residents…122,825 or 23.3% of the city’s total population (525,745). 40% of Escamp residents are native Dutch, 14% are expats and 46% are immigrants. The district borders the adjacent cities of Wateringen and Rijswijk. Public transport is available by train (Moerwijk station), tram and bus.

  • Municipal offices: Leyweg 813, 2541 AA Den Haag

Haags Hout Bezuidenhout district The Hague

Haagse Hout – The Hague Haagse Hout is one of the city’s greenest districts, with the 100-hectare (247 acres) Haagse Bos (The Hague forest) extending from the city center to the Wassenaar border. It is home to 8.5% (44,667) of the city’s residents, who are 54.5% native Dutch, 14.5% expats and 31% immigrants. The district includes two of the wealthiest neighborhoods in the city – Benoordenhout and Marlot, as well as Haagse Bos, Mariahoeve, Bezuidenhout and the Beatrixkwartier. Notable landmarks include the residential palace, Huis ten BoschClingendael estate, Louwman Museum and the World Trade Center The Hague. The district is served by train (Laan van N.O.I. and Mariahoeve stations), tram and bus. In addition to Wassenaar, the district also borders the adjacent cities of Leidschendam and Voorburg.

  • Municipal offices: Loudonstraat 95 2521 EC Den Haag

The Hague Laak district

Laak – The Hague Laak district is the smallest and least populated, with just 8% (42,580) of the city’s residents. It is comprised of three neighborhoods: Binckhorst, Spoorwijk and Laakkwartier. In the early 1900’s, the Binckhorst became primarily an industrial area, and where the gas factory was located. Over the past couple of years, the area has undergone a makeover, to improve its appeal as a residential area. Demographically, residents of this district are 25% native Dutch, 16% expats and 59% immigrants. Landmarks include The Hague University of Applied Sciences, Megastores shopping mall and Binck 36, a building which formerly housed the Dutch telecommunications company PTT which has been converted to shared office space, studios and restaurants. The Laak district borders the adjacent cities of Voorburg and Rijswijk.

  • Municipal offices: Slachthuisplein 25 2521 EC Den Haag

The Hague Leidschenveen-Ypenburg district

Leidschenveen-Ypenburg – The Hague Leidschenveen-Ypenburg district is the ‘youngest’ part of the city; it was annexed in 2002 (Leidschenveen was previously part of Leidschendam while Ypenburg is comprised of land that was formerly part of either Nootdorp or Rijswijk). Construction of Leidschenveen (where the old Ypenburg air field was located), began in 1997. As a district, Leidschenveen-Ypenburg is home to 9% (48,224) of The Hague’s residents, who are 60% native Dutch, 6% expats and 34% immigrants. The neighborhoods of Forepark and Hoornwijk are also part of Leidschenveen-Ypenburg. Physically, the district is the most removed from the rest of the city, connected only by a narrow strip of land. Two major highways intersect here (the north-south A4 and the east-west A12), which seemingly divides the district into 4 distinct quadrants. Landmarks in Leidschenveen-Ypenburg include the British School in the Netherlands (Leidschenveen campus), Car Jeans Stadium and the Drievliet amusement park. The district borders four adjacent cities: Voorburg, Leidschendam, Nootdorp and Rijswijk.

  • Municipal offices: Brigantijnlaan 303 2496 ZT Den Haag

The Hague Loosduinen district

Loosduinen – Up until 1923, when it was annexed by The Hague, Loosduinen was a separate municipality. It is located on the southwest side of the city and includes the neighborhoods of Kijkduin-Ockenburg, Kraayenstein-De Uithof, Bohemen and Waldeck. It is home to 9% (47,123) of the city’s residents who are 70% native Dutch, 6% expats and 24% immigrants. Landmarks in this district include De Savornin Lohmanplein shopping center, International School of The Hague, Ockenburgh and Madestein recreation areas and Kijkduin beach. It borders the adjacent Westland towns of Poeldijk and Monster.

  • Municipal offices: Kleine Keizer 3 2553 CV Den Haag

The Hague Scheveningen district

Scheveningen – The Hague Scheveningen district is located between the city center and the North Sea. It includes the neighborhoods of Oostduinen, Belgische Park, Westbroekpark, Van Stolkpark, Scheveningen, Statenkwartier, International Zone and Duindorp. Like Haagse Hout, it is one of the greenest districts in the city with the 92 hectare (227 acre) Scheveninges Bosjes, the 46 hectare (113 acre) Westbroekpark and the 20 hectare (49 acre) Nieuwe Scheveningse Bosjes. Many attractions are located in Scheveningen including De Pier, Kurhaus Hotel, Gemeentemuseum Den Haag, Zuiderstrandtheater and Madurodam. 10.6% (55,976) of the city’s residents live in the district who are 66.6% native Dutch, 6.7% expats and 26.7% immigrants. Public transport is available by tram and bus.

  • Muncipal offices: Scheveningseweg 303 2584 AA Den Haag

The Hague Segbroek district

Segbroek – The Hague Segbroek district is northwest of the city center and includes the neighborhoods of Bomen & Bloemenbuurt, Regentessekwartier, Valkenboskwartier, Vruchtenbuurt and Vogelwijk. It is home to 11.6% (61,069) of the city’s residents. Their ethnicity is 61% native Dutch, 10.4% expats and 28.6% immigrants. The popular shopping streets ‘The Fred‘ (Fahrenheitstraat), Thomsonlaan and Reinkenstraat are located in Segbroek. The district is well served by tram and bus.

  • Municipal offices: Fahrenheitstraat 190 2561 EH Den Haag

The Hague districts map


Related information…




Angloinfo South Holland (The Hague Rotterdam Delft Leiden)