National Public Holidays in Argentina

A calendar of the national vacation days when businesses, schools and banks may close and most people get the day off in Argentina...

Public holidays in Argentina fall into two categories:

  1. Feriados inamovibles: Public holidays that do not move. If they fall on a Tuesday or Thursday, an extra holiday is added to the Monday before or the Friday after.
  2. Feriados trasladables: Public holidays that move, depending on the day of the week that they fall. New Year's Day, Day of Respect for Cultural Diversity (Día del Respeto a la Diversidad Cultural) and the Day of National Sovereignty (Día de la Soberanía nacional) are moveable holidays, they are moved to the Monday before or after if they fall on another day.

Under Argentinian law, those of Jewish or Islamic faith are entitled to additional public holidays. These include Yom Kippur and the the first and last days of Passover for Jews; Eid al Fitr, Eid al Adha, and the Islamic New year for Muslims.

Public holidays 2017

1st January - New Year's Day

27th February - Carnival

28th February - Carnival/Shrove Tuesday

24th March - Truth and Justice Memorial Day

2 April - Veterans Day

13 April - Maundy Thursday

14th April - Good Friday

1 May - Labour Day

25th May - May Day Revolution

17th June - Martin Miguel de Guemes Day

20th June - National Flag Day

9 July - Independence Day (from Spain)

10 July - Independence Day substitute holiday

21st August - St Martin's Day

9th October - Day of respect for cultural diversity

27th November - National Sovereignty Day

8th December - Feast of the Immaculate Conception

25th December - Christmas Day