National Administration Offices in Argentina

Information about the various offices related to administrative procedures in Argentina...

Argentina is divided into 24 jurisdictions: Buenos Aires City - Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires (CABA) - which is the capital city of Argentina, and 23 provinces.

Information on administration and the various authorities can be found on the Argentinian government website (in Spanish). The website also has information in English for foreigners coming to Argentina to live, work or study: Click here (PDF)

Some of the main authorities that new residents in Argentina need to deal with include:

  • Immigration Office (Dirección Nacional de Inmigraciones)
    At: Av. Antártida Argentina 1355, Buenos Aires City
    Tel: (011) 4317-0234
  • National People's Register (Registro Nacional de las Personas): This office is responsible for the registration and identification of all people residing in Argentina
  • Public Revenue Agency (Administración Federal de Ingresos Públicos - AFIP)
    Tel: (011) 0810-999-2347 (Toll free)
    Open: Monday to Friday, 08:00-20:00