Belgian Administration

Information about the national and local administrative centres of Belgium - where to go for residency papers, vehicle registration papers, driving licences and more...

Belgium is a federal state consisting of communities and regions.

The central Federal State controls foreign affairs, defence, justice, finances, social security and national issues relating to public health and domestic affairs.

Communities of Belgium

There are three communities (French, Flemish and German speaking), which each have regional authority for language, culture, education, preventative medicine, protection of young people, scientific research, sports and public services.

Regions of Belgium

There are also three geographical regions (Flanders, Brussels-Capital and Wallonia), which run their own economy, foreign trade, agriculture, environment, energy, employment, regional development and town planning, housing, water policy, public works, and transport.

Provinces of Belgium

The country is further divided into ten provinces. Five of these are Flemish:

  • Antwerp
  • Limburg
  • West Flanders
  • East Flanders
  • Flemish Brabant

and five Wallonian:

  • Hainaut
  • Namur
  • Liège
  • Luxembourg
  • Walloon Brabant

Each province has an elected council, whose responsibilities include law and order, roads, regional development, and epidemic control. The council also has a supervisory role over administration of the municipality.

Communes/Municipalities of Belgium

There are 589 communes or municipalities, whose responsibilities are local law and order, local elections, civil marriages, building permits, road repair and social assistance.

The Town Hall (maison communale/stadhuis) of the commune is the first reference point for all local and civil issues.

Further Information