Colombia Country File

Understand the basics of Colombia's geography, history, economy and politics at a glance...

Colombia (República de Colombia) is split into 32 departments (departamentos) and the Capital District (Distrito Capital) of Bogatá. It has an estimated population of 48 million people with approximately eight million of them living in Bogotá itself.

The country's official language is Spanish (Castillian) and while it is overwhelmingly Roman Catholic in practising numbers, Colombia's constitution guarantees freedom and equality of religion.

The country's motto is 'Freedom and Order' (Libertad y Orden).