Schooling and Education in Cyprus

The basics of the education system in Cyprus: All the essential facts on the system and levels...

The Education System in the Republic of Cyprus has four stages: pre-primary, primary, secondary and higher/tertiary.

Nine years of education are compulsory (and free at state schools): education is compulsory from Primary School (age 5 years and 8 months) to the end of the third year of Secondary School (age 15).

The Ministry of Education and Culture have published a comprehensive booklet A guide to education in Cyprus (PDF)