Key Facts and Figures

Essential basics and useful websites for planning a move to Cyprus…

Formal Name Republic of Cyprus (Kypriaki Dimokratia/Kibris Cumhuriyeti)
Capital Nicosia (Lefkosia)
Main Cities Nicosia (Lefkosia), Limassol (Lemesos), Paphos (Pafos) and Larnaca (Larnaka)
Official Language Greek, Turkish
Currency Euro (€). 1 Euro = 100 cents
Dialling Code +357
Emergency numbers 112
Time Zone UTC + 2
Daylight Savings Time Last Sunday in March (clocks go forward by an hour) through to the last Sunday in October (clocks go back by an hour).
Units of Measure Metric System
Electricity 240 volts AC; frequency of 50 hertz
Government Republic
Population 1,189,197 (July 2015 est.)
Climate Temperate; Mediterranean with hot, dry summers and cool winters
Land Surface 9,241 sq km
Coastline 648 km

Republic of Cyprus flag


Useful Web References