Voting in Cyprus

Information on how to register to vote and the rights of EU citizens when voting in the European Parliamentary Elections and municipal elections in Cyprus...

All EU citizens living as residents in Cyprus are legally entitled to vote in certain Cypriot elections, specifically:

  • Local Municipal Elections
  • European Parliamentary Elections

Only Cypriot citizens can vote in parliamentary and presidential elections.

An EU citizen may also stand as a candidate in Municipal and European Parliamentary elections under the same conditions a Cypriot national.

To be eligible to vote, a person must be at least 18 years old. In order to register to vote, non-Cypriot nationals must have resided in Cyprus, or any other EU state, for 6 months. Persons of Cypriot origin who acquire Cypriot citizenship do not need to wait six months before registering. Electoral rolls are updated every three months on 2 January, 2 April, 2 July and 2 October. Voting books are issued by the Civil Registry and Migration Department and local district administration offices.

Note: Registration for Municipal elections and EU Parliament elections are separate processes. Registration to vote in either of these elections does not automatically qualify a voter for the other.

Registering to Vote in Municipal Elections

Local Municipal elections elect the Mayor (Dímarchos/Δήμαρχος), council members (Méli tou symvoulíou/Μέλη του συμβουλίου) and a community leader. A community leader is also known as the koinótarchis or mouchtaris.

In order to vote in municipal elections in Cyprus, EU citizens must submit an application to be entered on the special electoral roll. Once an EU citizen has been entered on this roll they remain registered as long as they are resident in Cyprus, unless they apply to be removed from the electoral rolls. An application to vote can  be made at any time to the local regional administration.

Voting in Cyprus is compulsory, therefore an EU citizen on the special electors roll must exercise their voting rights. They may apply for removal from the voters roll by submitting an application to the regional administration at least fifteen days before elections. Local elections are held every five years.

The documents required for non-Cypriot nationals to register to vote are:

  • Completed application form “Registration in the Special Electoral List for European Community Electors’ (Article 8 Municipal and Community Elections (Citizens of other Member States) Law of 2004)”
  • Alien Registration Card (copy)
  • Cyprus ID card (if applicable)
  • Passport (copy)
  • Passport sized photograph

Voting applications made directly at the Civil Registry and Migration Department do not require a photograph as one can be taken onsite, free of charge. For more information visit the Ministry of Interior website

Application forms for citizens of Cypriot origin can also be downloaded from the Ministry of Interior website (PDF in Greek). Those of Cypriot origin must include the National ID card numbers of their parents on this application form.

Once an application to vote as been submitted, a voting book will be issued. The voting book must be presented at the polling station at every election. Each time the right to vote is exercised, the voting book is stamped with the details of the election. Polling stations are usually at the local primary school.

Voting in European Parliamentary Elections

EU nationals, over the age of 18 may vote in European Parliamentary Elections, and any national over 25 is eligible to stand as candidate for Member of the European Parliament (MEP). An EU citizen voting in Cyprus for elections for the European Parliament forfeits the right to vote in another EU country.

The documents required for non-Cypriot nationals to register to vote are:

  • Completed application form “Registration in the Special Electoral List for European Community Electors’ (Article 9(2) Elections of Members of the European Parliament Law of 2004)”.
  • Proof of European Citizenship (passport of national id card)
  • Proof of six months residency in an EU country

Further Information