School Terms and Holidays in Burgundy

Information on the school terms in Burgundy to help you plan your calendar. Includes the dates when the state schools close for vacation...

These are the dates for Government School Calendar for the départements of the Burgundy region. Private schools may have slightly different dates for the school vacations; you will need to check with the relevant school.

  • The school week is 24 hours long. Some schools opt for a four day week with six hours of classes per day on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday; others adopt a five day week (Monday to Friday)
  • The school day's hours vary between regions but is generally 08:30-16:30 with two breaks
  • Lunch hours vary from school to school and in general last one and a half to two hours

Zone A: Côte d'Or (21), Nièvre (58), Saône-et-Loire (71), Yonne (89)

Zone A: School Year 2016-2017
Back to SchoolTuesday 1 September 2016
Half Term (Toussaint)Wednesday 19 October 2016
Thursday 3 November 2016
Christmas (Noël)Saturday 17 December 2016
Tuesday 3 January 2017
Winter Half Term (Hiver) Saturday 18 February 2017
Monday 6 March 2017
Easter (Printemps)Saturday 15 April 2017
Tuesday 2 May 2017
Summer Holidays Begin Saturday 8 July 2017

Zone A: School Year 2017-2018
Back to SchoolMonday 4 September 2017
Half Term (Toussaint)Saturday 21 October 2017
Monday 6 November 2017
Christmas (Noël)Saturday 23 December 2017
Tuesday 8 January 2018
Winter Half Term (Hiver) Saturday 10 February 2018
Monday 26 February 2018
Easter (Printemps)Saturday 7 April 2018
Monday 23 April 2018
Summer Holidays BeginSaturday 7 July 2018

The dates above indicate the first day of the school holidays and the day classes resume for a new term.