School Holidays in the Pays de la Loire

The school calendar for the Pays-de-la-Loire: when schools of the Loire close for vacations and the children are on holiday. The calendar includes the dates of summer holidays, half-term, the spring break and the Christmas break...

These are the dates for Government School Calendar for the départements of the Pays de la Loire. Private schools may have slightly different dates for the school vacations; you will need to check with the relevant school.

  • For information on schools in other zones, refer to the French Government Department of Education website (in French)
  • The school week is 24 hours long. Some schools opt for a four day week with six hours of classes per day on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday; others adopt a five day week (Monday to Friday)
  • The school day's hours vary between regions but is generally 08:30-16:30 with two breaks
  • Lunch hours vary from school to school and in general last one and a half to two hours

Zone B: Pays de la Loire

Note that for the academy of Orléans-Tours, the Easter holidays have been moved to 25th April until 14th May 2018.

  • Loire Atlantique (44), Maine-et-Loire (49), Mayenne (53), Sarthe (72), Vendée (85)


Zone B: School Year 2017-2018
Back to SchoolMonday 4 September 2017
Half Term (Toussaint)Saturday 21 October 2017
Monday 6 November 2017
Christmas (Noël)Saturday 23 December 2017
Monday 8 January 2018
Winter Half Term (Hiver) Saturday 24 February 2018
Monday 12 March 2018
Easter (Printemps)Saturday 21 April 2018
Monday 7 May 2018
Summer Holidays BeginSaturday 7 July 2018
Zone B: School Year 2018-2019
Back to SchoolMonday 3 September 2018
Half Term (Toussaint)Saturday 20 October 2018
Monday 5 November 2018
Christmas (Noël)Saturday 22 December 2018
Monday 7 January 2019
Winter Half Term (Hiver) Saturday 9 February 2019
Monday 25 February 2019
Easter (Printemps)Saturday 6 April 2019
Tuesday 23 April 2019
Summer Holidays Begin Saturday 6 July 2019

 

The dates above indicate the final day of school and the day classes resume for a new term.