School Holidays in Ile-de-France

The school calendar for Paris Ile-de-France: when schools of the Paris region close for vacations and the children are on holiday. The calendar includes the dates of summer holidays, half-term, the spring break and the Christmas break...

These are the dates for Government School Calendar for Paris and Ile-de-France. Private schools may have slightly different dates for the school vacations; you will need to check with the relevant school.

School term dates depend on whether you live in zone A, B or C.

  • The school week is 24 hours long. Some schools opt for a four day week with six hours of classes per day on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday; others adopt a five day week (Monday to Friday)
  • The school day's hours vary between regions but is generally 08:30-16:30 with two breaks
  • Lunch hours vary from school to school and in general last one and a half to two hours

The Department of Education has an online tool which can be used to search for the exact school hours of most schools’ in France

 

Paris Ile de France: Zone C

Zone C: School Year 2019-2020

Back to School

Monday 2 September  2019

Half Term (Toussaint)

Saturday 19 October 2019
Monday 4 November 2019

Christmas (Noël)

Saturday 21 December 2019
Monday 6 January 2020

Winter Half Term (Hiver) 

Saturday 8 February 2020
Monday 24 February 2020

Easter (Printemps)

Saturday 4 April  2020
Monday 20 April 2020

Summer Holidays Begin 

Saturday 4 July 2020

 

Zone C: School Year 2020-2021

Back to School

Tuesday 1 September 2020

Half Term (Toussaint)

Saturday 17 October 2020
Monday 2 November 2020

Christmas (Noël)

Saturday 19 December 2020
Monday 4 January 2021

Winter Half Term (Hiver) 

Saturday 13 February 2021
Monday 1 March 2021

Easter (Printemps)

Saturday 17 April 2021
Monday 3 May 2021

Summer Holidays Begin

Tuesday 6 July 2021

 

The dates above indicate the first day of school holidays and the day classes resume for a new term.