National Public Holidays in Germany

Calendar of the national vacation days when businesses, schools and banks close

  • The German for public holiday is gesetzliche Feiertage
  • German organisations and businesses generally close on public holidays
  • Police stations and hospitals do not close
  • If a public holiday falls on a weekend the following Monday or previous Friday is not taken off in lieu, as in some countries

Public holidays in Germany vary from one federal state to another with some states having more public holidays than others. In Berlin, for example, there are nine public holidays per year, whereas certain federal states, such as Baden-W├╝rttemberg or Bavaria, celebrate up to five more days. For a key to the regional names, please see below.

Some days in Germany are not public holidays but are called "Silent Days." This is a recognised day of mourning and in some regions, musical or theatrical events are not permitted when Silent Days are being observed. 

Public Holidays 2022

  • 1 January - New Year's Day
  • 6 January - Epiphany (Regional Holiday in BW, BY, ST)
  • 15th April - Good Friday
  • 18th April - Easter Monday
  • 1 May - Labour Day
  • 26 May - Ascension Day
  • 6 June - Whit Monday
  • 16 May - Corpus Christi Day (Regional Holiday in BW, BY, HE, NW, RP, SL, and some localities in ST, TH)
  • 8 August - Peace Festival (BY)
  • 15 August - Assumption Day (Regional Holiday in BY and SL)
  • 3 October - Day of Germany Unity
  • 31 October - Reformation Day (Regional Holiday in BB, MV, SN, ST, TH)
  • 1 November - All Saints' Day (Silent Day in BW, BY, NW, RP, SL)
  • 16 November - Repentance Day (Regional Holiday in SN)
  • 25 December - Christmas Day
  • 26 December - Boxing Day

Key to the regions

Baden-Wuerttemberg (BW), Bavaria (BY), Berlin (BE), Brandenburg (BB), Bremen (HB), Hamburg (HH), Hessen (HE), Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania (MV), Lower Saxony (NI), North Rhine-Westphalia (NW), Rhineland-Palatinate (RP), Saarland (SL), Saxony (SN), Saxony-Anhalt (ST), Schleswig-Holstein (SH), Thuringia (TH).