Country File

Understand the basics of Hong Kong at a glance...

Hong Kong, literally meaning "fragrant harbour", is a city-state which is one of two special administrative regions of China. It is home to over seven million inhabitants and is one of the most densely populated areas of the world with over 16,500 people per square mile. It is split into five constituencies; Hong Kong Island, Kowloon East, Kowloon West, New Territories East and New Territories West.

The official languages of Hong Kong are English and Chinese while the writing systems are traditional Chinese script and the Latin alphabet.

There is religious freedom in Hong Kong although the majority of residents are non-religious. The main religions are Buddhism, Taoism and Christianity and there are also smaller Sikh, Hindu, Muslim, Jewish, Bahai and Falun Gong communities.