Hungary Country File

Understand the basics of Hungary's geography, history, economy and politics at a glance...

Hungary is a predominantly Catholic country in Central Europe, and is a European Union member state. It is home to approximately ten million people, most of whom speak Hungarian. The currency is the Hungarian Forint (HUF).

For administrative purposes, the country is divided into 19 counties, 23 urban counties and the capital, Budapest. Budapest was originally two separate cities straddling the Danube: Buda on the west of the river and the larger Pest on the east.