Local Administration Offices in Jakarta

Information about the local administrative centres of Jakarta - where to go for residency papers, tax numbers and driving licences...

The Jakarta Special Capital Territory (Daerah Khusus Ibukota Jakarta - DKI Jakarta), is the political, administrative, and economic capital of the country. On an administrative level, Jakarta is further divided into five municipalities headed by a Mayor (Walikota) and one regency headed by a Regent (Bupati).

  • For the official English version of the website for the Jakarta Special Capital Territory: Click here

The administrative districts of Jakarta are as follows:

These websites are only available in Indonesian; however, they do provide contacts and details about important services such as the civil registry, local facilities and permits.

The administration is further subdivided into Kecamatan (district government) and then Kelurahan (commune or village). These are then divided into local communities; Rukun Warga, which could be defined as Community Associations and then Rukun Tetangga (Neighbourhood Associations), which are organised by the respective neighbourhoods, under the supervision of a Lurah (head of the Kelurahan).

Efforts at improving government services at a national as well as local level have significantly improved in recent years. However, to save time and effort it is advisable, when making applications or enquiries at government offices, to use a service provider (biro jasa). These service providers are often retired government officials, or people who have extensive working experience with this bureaucracy.

Immigration Offices

Foreigners entering Indonesia with the appropriate visa must apply for a residency permit at the local immigration office (Kantor Imigrasi) within three days. Each municipality in Jakarta has its own immigration office, where registration of resident foreigners is carried out.

For a list of local immigration offices and contacts, see below:






The immigration offices in West and South Jakarta are designated Special Class I; those in Central, East and North Jakarta are designated Class I; Bogor, Tangerang and Depok are Class II, and Bekasi is Class III. Consequently, the scope of services provided differs widely, even between those within the same class.

Tax Offices

All individuals, including foreigners who reside in Indonesia for longer than 183 days within 12 months, or those who live and intend to reside in Indonesia within a fiscal year, are subject to taxation. A resident earning income that exceeds the non-taxable income threshold must register at their local Director General of Taxation (DGT) office and file an annual tax return.

Exemptions may apply, for example to diplomats and consular officials, and those working for certain international non-profit organisations.

Residents must have a tax registration number (Nomor Pokok Wajib Pajak - NPWP). Tax numbers can be jointly assigned to couples, so a household consisting of a husband and wife may have just one NPWP.

  • To find the nearest Regional Tax Office in Jakarta: Click here

Driving Licences

Applications and procedures for getting a driving licence in Jakarta are carried out at the Satuan Penyelenggara Administrasi (Satpas) SIM, Jakarta Metro Police.

  • Satpas - Jakarta Metro Police
    At: Jalan Daan Mogot, West Jakarta
  • It is also possible to register online for a driving licence (SIM): Click here

Alternately, it is possible to have an international driving licence validated at the Traffic Police Office (Korps Lalu Lintas - Korlantas).

  • For contact details and requirements: Click here (in Indonesian)