National Administration in Italy

Information about where to go in Italy for residency papers, vehicle registration, driving licences and more...

Italy is divided into 20 regions (regione) and each region is divided into smaller provinces (provinci). Each province is further split into communes (comuni).

The 20 regions are loosely formed from historical borders and are each individual in their character and customs. There are 96 provinces that manage the local government.

The levels of government deal with different issues, for example:

  • Regional government deals with health care, education and general law abidance
  • Provincial government is responsible for vehicle registration and licensing, policing and local economy
  • The commune deals with local issues, such as building permits, refuse collection and street lighting, the registry of births and deaths, and contracting for local roads and public works


The Questura is the main police office, where foreigners arriving in Italy must register.

Some Terminology

  • Questura: Police HQ (as in Polizia and not Carabinieri)
  • Anagrafe: Registry Office (general term for all registry offices)
  • Prefettura: Prefecture, the office of the prefect (prefetto), the State's representative in a province
  • Tribunale Civile: Civil court
  • Municipio: Town Hall of a larger town (municipality), also known as a commune and used for smaller towns and villages

Further Information