National Public Holidays in Malaysia

A calendar of the national vacation days when businesses, schools and banks may close and most people get the day off…

Public holidays in Malaysia are regulated by the Holidays Act and the Employment Act.

Malaysia is made up of 13 states and three Federal Territories, which may have their own regional public holidays. Many religious celebrations are given as public holidays. These can vary from one state to another, due to different interpretations by religious authorities.

The most important holiday in Malaysia is National Day (Hari Kebangsaan), often referred to as Hari Merdeka, which commemorates the Federation of Malaya's independence on 31 August.

Other important celebrations include the Chinese New Year, the Hindu Festival of Light (Deepavali or Diwali), Wesak (vesak) commemorating Buddha's birth, and the Muslim celebration of Eid-al-Fitr (Hari Raya Puasa)

Holidays that fall on a day of rest (Friday or Sunday depending on the state or territory) are carried over to the following day. Offices and banks close on public holidays; restaurants and shopping centres generally remain open.

Public Holidays 2018

  • 1 January - New Year's Day (except Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis & Terengganu)
  • 16 February - Chinese New Year
  • 17 February - Chinese New Year Holiday (except Kelantan, Terengganu)
  • 1 May - Labour Day
  • 29 May - Wesak Day (Buddha's Birthday)
  • 15 June - Hari Raya Eid Al-Fitr
  • 16 June - Hari Raya Eid Al-Fitr (Second Day)
  • 22 August - Hari Raya Haji
  • 31 August - National Day / Merdeka Day 
  • 9 September - King's Birthday 
  • 11 September - Awal Muharram (Islamic New Year)
  • 16 September - Malaysia Day 
  • 6 November - Diwali/Deepavali (except Sarawak)
  • 20 November - Maulidur Rasul
  • 25 December - Christmas Day