Higher Education in Malta

Find out about the options available for higher and further education in Malta...

The University of Malta has three campuses – the main one at Msida; the Old University Building at Valletta, which dates back 400 years; and one on the neighbouring island of Gozo.

An appropriate qualification in Maltese is an entry requirement for students resident in Malta who want to attend the University of Malta, even though classes and examinations are conducted in English.

For applicants who pursued their secondary education outside Malta, the University may consider and accept comparable qualifications, provided that the mix of subjects and levels of the qualification obtained from overseas examining boards are comparable to the subjects and levels required for the award of the Matriculation Certificate.

Approximately 11,000 students including over 600 international students from 80 countries attend the university, following full- or part-time degree and diploma courses in a range of subjects.

The University of Malta has 14 faculties: Arts, Built Environment, Dental Surgery, Economics, Management and Accountancy, Education, Engineering, Health Sciences, Information and Communication Technology, Law, Media & Knowledge Sciences, Medicine & Surgery, Science, Social Wellbeing and Theology.

Since the 1988 Education Act, the government of Malta has provided free university education to eligible residents with sufficient qualifications for entry. However, due to funding constraints, the university offers some courses only every other year.

Tuition Fees

Tuition fees may apply in state further education institutions, but in most cases exemptions are available, for example for EU/EEA nationals, and non-EU nationals with long-term residence status.

Lifelong Learning

Continuing education and courses are available to adults who wish to improve their business knowledge, take or retake formal examinations, or learn a new skill. Both long and short courses are available.