Public Holidays and Festivities in Mexico City

A list of significant dates in Mexico City...

There are two types of holiday in Mexico:

  1. Compulsory (statutory) holidays: Employees are entitled to take paid statutory holidays (días de asueto or días feriados); if they are required to work, they must be paid their regular wages for the day, plus an extra amount equal to twice their regular pay. Observed statutory holidays (some are only observed in certain states) are also bank, post-office, and school holidays. When a statutory holiday falls on a Saturday, the holiday is taken on Friday, while statutory holidays falling on a Sunday are taken on Monday. The resulting long-weekend is referred to as a puente.
  2. Commonly given (civic) holidays: Employees may also take civic holidays off work but are not entitled to pay.

Festivals are usually related to a religious or cultural observance, but are not statutory holidays.

Statutory Holidays

  • January 1: New Year’s Day/Año Nuevo
  • First Monday in February: Constitution Day/Día de la Constitución
  • Third Monday in March: Benito Juárez’ Birthday/Cumpleaños de Benito Juárez
  • Late-March, early-April: Maundy Thursday and Good Friday (in some states)
  • May 1: Labor Day/Día del Trabajo
  • September 16: Independence Day/Consumación de la Independencia
  • Third Monday in November: Revolution Day/Día de la Revolución
  • December 1: Change of Federal Government/Transmisión del Poder Ejecutivo Federal (next occurs December 1, 2018)
  • December 25: Christmas Day/Navidad

Civic Holidays

  • February 19: Mexican Army Day/Día del Ejército
  • February 24: Flag Day/Día de la Bandera
  • March 18: Aniversary of the Oil Expropriation/Aniversario de la Expropriación Petrolera
  • April 21: Heroic Defense of Veracruz/Heroica Defensa de Veracruz
  • May 5: May Fifth/Cinco de Mayo
  • May 8: Miguel Hidalgo’s Birthday/Cumpleaños de Miguel Hidalgo
  • June 1: National Maritime Day/Día de la Marina
  • September 13: Anniversary of the Boy Heros/Día de los Niños Héroes
  • September 16: Cry of Dolores/Grito de Dolores
  • September 27: End of the Mexican War of Independence/Consumación de la Independencia
  • September 30: Morelos’ Birthday/Cumpleaños de José Ma. Morelos y Pavón
  • October 12: Columbus Day/Descubrimiento de América, or Día de la Raza
  • November 23: Día de la Armada de México

Major Festivities

  • January 6: Epiphany/Día de los Reyes Magos, or Día de los Santos Reyes (celebrates the arrival of the wise men to Bethlehem)
  • February 2: Candlemass/Día de la Candelaria
  • February 14: Valentine’s Day/Día de San Valentin
  • Late March-Early April: Holy Week and Pascua/Semana Santa and Pascua (includes Palm Sunday, Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, Holy Saturday, and Easter Sunday, and the following week; Maundy Thursday and Good Friday are statutory holidays in some states)
  • April 30: Children’s Day/Día del Niño
  • May 10: Mother’s Day/Día de las Madres
  • May 15: Teacher’s Day/Día del Maestro
  • May 23: Student’s Day/Día del Estudiante
  • 3rd Sunday in June – Father’s Day/ Día del Padre
  • November 1-2: Día de los Muertos (honors deceased relatives and friends)
  • December 12: Day of the Virgin Guadalupe/Día de la Virgen de Guadalupe
  • December 16-24: The Posadas/Las Posadas (observance of the story of Mary and Joseph arriving to Bethlehem)
  • December 24: Christmas Eve/Nochebuena
  • December 28: Day of the Innocents/Día de los Santos Innocentes (the equivalent of April Fools Day)
  • December 31: New Year’s Eve/Año Nuevo Vispera