Country Facts

Essential facts, basic figures and useful websites for planning a move to Mexico...

Formal Name United Mexican States (Estados Unidos Mexicanos)
Capital Mexico City
Main Cities Guadalajara, Monterrey, Puebla, Tijuana
Official Language Spanish is the de facto national language; 68 Amerindian languages are recognized as national languages by the government
Currency Mexican Peso (MXN)
Dialing Code +52
Emergency number 911
Time Zone Mexico uses three time zones. The capital is UTC/GMT -6
Daylight Savings Time DST is observed in Mexico except in the state of Sonora
Units of Measure Metric System
Electricity 127 volts; frequency of 60 hertz. Plug types A and B
Government Federal republic
Population 127,927,966 (January 2016 est.)
Climate Varies from tropical to desert
Land Surface 1,964,375 Km2

9.330 Km

Useful Websites