Key Facts and Figures

Essential basic information and useful websites for planning a move to the Netherlands...

Formal Name Kingdom of the Netherlands (Koninkrijk der Nederlanden), or Nederland
Capital Amsterdam
Main Cities The Hague (seat of government), Rotterdam, Utrecht, Eindhoven, Maastricht
Official language Dutch
Currency Euro (€). 1 Euro = 100 cents
Dialling Code +31
Emergency 112
Time Zone UTC/GMT +1
Daylight Savings Time (DST) Last Sunday in March (clocks go forward by an hour) through to the last Sunday in October (clocks go back by an hour)
Units of Measure Metric System
Electricity 230 volts; 50Hz AC
Population 16,847,007 (July 2011 est.)
Climate Maritime climate
Land Surface 41,526 Km2
Coastline 451 km
Government Constitutional monarchy
Netherlands Flag Tricolour, equal sized bands of red, white, and blue

Useful Links