Philippines Country File

Understand the basics of the Philippines's geography, history, economy and politics at a glance...

The Republic of the Philippines is a tropical island country in the western Pacific ocean, made up of over 7,000 islands. Its capital is Manila.

The population of the country is estimated at approximately 102,000,000 as of 2015, making it the 12th most populated country in the world.

The official languages of the country are Filipino and English. There are many regional dialects including Kapampangan, Ilocano and Visayan.

The majority religion is Christianity with 83 percent of the population identifying themselves as Roman Catholic. The second religion in the country is Islam, with Muslims accounting to approximately 11 percent of the population.

The Philippine flag is made up of equal horizontal bands of royal blue and scarlet with a white equilateral triangle at the hoist side. Inside the triangle is a central yellow sun with eight rays and three yellow stars. The blue band represents peace, truth and justice, the red band valor and patriotism. The equilateral triangle represents liberty, equality and fraternity and the color, white peace and purity. The sun represents the dawn of self-determination and each ray represents a province that revolted against the Spanish in the 19th Century. The three stars represent the island groups of Luzon, Las Visayas and Mindanao.