Country File

Understand the basics of Qatar's geography, history, economy and politics at a glance...

The State of Qatar is a small Arab Emirate occupying the Qatar Peninsula in the Persian Gulf. According to the 2010 census it has an estimated population of fewer than 1.7 million residents

The capital of Qatar is Doha, which lies on the central east coast of the country on a shallow harbour. It is the largest city in the country with an estimated population of 1,000,000 inhabitants.

Qatar is divided into eight baladiyah or municipalities.

The religion of the overwhelming majority in Qatar is Islam, which is followed by 80 percent of the population. Qatar's official language is Arabic, although English is a commonly used second language.