Regional Transport Systems

Find out how to get around German-speaking Switzerland using the region's public transport network...


The Zürich transport system (Zürcher Verkehrsbetriebe - ZVV) includes tramlines, trolley bus lines, urban network lines with motorised buses, district bus lines, cable railways (Rigiblick) and regional railways, the Zürich S-Bahn.


The Basel transport system (Basel Verkehrs-Betriebe - BVB) includes tramlines and buses.

The Regio-S-Bahn is the commuter rail network serving northwest Switzerland and Wiesental and even across the borders to Germany and France.

  • Line S1 Frick/Laufenburg-Basel, main station-Mulhouse
  • Line S3 Olten-Basel-Laufen-Delemont-Porrentruy
  • Lins S Delémont-Glovelier
  • Line S5 Weil am rhein-Lörrach-Steinen
  • Line S6 Basel main station to Lörrach-Zell im Wiesental
  • Line S9 Olten-Sisasch

The S-Bahn is jointly operated by the Swiss railway company SBB, the French rail company SNCF and the Germany rail company DB


The transport network in Berne (Bernmobil) operates three tram services, 19 bus and trolleybus services covering 120 kilometres.

  • BERNMOBIL infocenter
    : Bärenplatz 8, 3011 Bern
    Tel: 031 321 88 44
    Fax: 031 321 86 18
    Open: Monday to Friday 08:30-18:00

The S-Bahn Bern connects the suburbs of Berne with the central district. Trains leave the SBB main station in Berne.

  • For route details and schedule times: Click here (in German)
  • Single tickets, multiple ride passes, monthly or yearly passes are available.


The Lucerne transport system (Verkehrsbetrieb Luzern - vbl) has a network of buses serving the city and outskirts of Lucerne.

  • Verkehrsbetriebe Luzern AG
    : Tribschenstrasse 65, 6002 Lucerne
    Tel: 041 369 65 65
    Fax: 041 369 65 00

The Zentralbahn is the train system that connects Lucerne with the cantons of Nidwalden and Obwalden. The trains leave from Lucerne main station.

  • 24 hour call centre - Tel: 0900 300 300
  • Zentralbahn AG
    : Bahnhofstrasse 23, 6362 Stansstad
    Tel: 051 228 85 85
    Fax: 051 228 85 86


The Zug train network (Stadtbahn Zug) uses the railways of the SBB/CFF and offers two lines: Baar-Zug-Lucerne and Zug-Oberwil-Walchwil-Arth-Goldau-Erstfeld with 15 stops within the canton of Zug.