National Public Holidays in Turkey

A calendar of the national vacation days when businesses, schools and banks may close and most people get the day off in Turkey...

Official public holidays in Turkey are regulated by Act 2429 (March 1981) and include both national and Islamic religious holidays. The dates for Islamic holidays change each year and are based on the phases of the moon.

During Ramazan Bayrami (Ramadan Feast) some restaurants are closed during the day, and Muslims refrain from eating and drinking from sunrise to sunset. The main public holiday is Kurban Bayrami (Feast of the Sacrifice) which can last from three to ten days.

Turkish Public Holidays 2017

  • 1 January - New Year's Day
  • 23 April - National Sovereignty and Children's Day
  • 1 May - Labor and Solidarity Day
  • 19 May - Commemoration of Atatürk, Youth and Sports Day
  • 26 - 28 June - Ramazan
  • 15 July - National Solidarity and Democracy Day
  • 30 August - Victory Day
  • 1- 4 September - Feast of the Sacrifice
  • 29 October - Republic Day