National Public Holidays in the UK

These are the days where schools and businesses close for a holiday...

  • National public holidays in the UK are commonly referred to as bank holidays
  • Schools and many business organisations close for the day (except in Scotland where they may remain open)
  • All banks are closed, however, for business reasons Scottish banks follow English and Welsh bank holidays
  • Some shops and supermarkets may open on bank holidays
  • A substitute day is given, generally on the following Monday, when a bank holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday
  • Unless stated otherwise the public holidays below are on Mondays

England and Wales have eight permanent public holidays, Northern Ireland has ten and Scotland has nine statutory bank holidays.

For UK government website has information on official bank holidays in the UK.

UK Public Holidays 2017

  • 1 January - New Year’s Day
  • 2 January - New Year's Day observed
  • 14 April - Good Friday
  • 17 April - Easter Monday
  • 1 May - Early May bank holiday
  • 29 May - Spring bank holiday
  • 28 August - Summer bank holiday
  • 25 December - Christmas Day
  • 26 December - Boxing Day