ASEAN Economic Community

3 Replies

Hi, There might be many of you unaware that on 31 December 2015, the ten countries that comprise ASEAN (The Association of South East Asian Nations) will commit to an ASEAN Economic Community, bringing increased levels of free trade, movement of capital, and skilled labour across the member states. ASEAN comprises of Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar (Burma), the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs site has a link to the ASEAN Communications Master Plan. Should you wish to know more, please also visit the ASEAN website.


Mario-884284 1422363728

Additionally for those in the business sector, there is an ASEAN Community Handbook for Business.


Khanza 1422868017

Will it be possible around ASEAN to live and work in different member countries if you are a foreigner?

Or does the law apply differently? How similar to the EU is it?

keefeandy 1422885233

Looks to me that some "free flow of skilled labour" will be possible across ASEAN countries, although I suspect, in the immediate term it will be limited to citizens of the ten member states only.

See Impact of ASEAN EC on Indonesia.

In terms of being "skilled" it looks like there are are initiatives already in place for "Mutual Recognition Arrangement" in specific skilled sectors.

See ASEAN EC Labour Policy Needs Work.

I am pessimistic that changes will be too fast for Indonesia and will have difficulty to adjust and keep up. As far as I can see, it's more of a wait-and-see attitude among professionals both within ASEAN countries and those current expatriated in any one of the 10 member states.



Join the discussion