Public Holidays



National Public Holidays in Indonesia

Find out when the Indonesian public holidays fall throughout the year...

  • When a public holiday falls on a Thursday or Tuesday, it is common practice for the government to declare a bridge holiday (cuti bersama or "Shared Holiday by Government Decree"), by taking off the Friday or Monday creating a long weekend
  • Public holidays that fall on the weekend are not moved to another date
  • Official public holidays are announced in the summer of each year, for the following year, although the date of Islamic holidays may not be confirmed until a few days before as these are based on the lunar calendar. Following the appropriate moon sighting, announcements are made in the national press confirming the official date.
  • Nyepi day (literally, day of silence) is strictly observed on the island of Bali. The airport closes for 24 hours
  • Banks close on 31 December
  • Eid al-Fitr (Idul Fitri) is a national public holiday for the first two days. Banks close for a week and businesses may close for up to two weeks

Public Holidays 2016

  • 1 January - New Year's Day
  • 8 February - Chinese Lunar New Year's Day
  • 9 March - Hindu New Year / Day of Silence (Bali)
  • 25 March - Good Friday
  • 1 May - Labour Day
  • 5 May - Ascension Day (Christian)
  • 6 May - Ascension Day (Muslim)
  • 22 May - Waisak Day (Buddha's Anniversary)
  • 17 August - Indonesian Independence Day
  • 12 September - Muslim Day of Sacrifice (Idul Adha)
  • 2 October - Muharram/Islamic New Year
  • 12 December - Prophet Muhammad's Birthday
  • 25 December - Christmas Day