Taxation when you live more than 180 day a year outside France

3 Replies

Could anyone please tell me about my situation and make suggestions legal-wise. I'm a French resident for the past 7 years. Expect to receive a large sum of money this year. Ready to spend more than 180 days outside France in some other country where taxes are lower (perhaps Montenegro or even rent a flat in Monaco). In this case, do I have to pay any taxes in France given I lived more than 180 days a year outside France? Do I have to show them/declare my income when I lived outside? What if I use my French bank to receive funds but still live outside France or is it better to use some other country bank?

Featured Classified

Replies

Mad-Hatter-1017809 1646069742

If you don't have any particular reason for spending time outside France, ie you are not working/not attending a university/not looking after a family member, and you keep your home in France and nothing about your life changes except just you're spending time travelling,  France will likely continue to consider you resident..

Apart from anything else, do you have freedom of movement? Can you legally live for 6 months in Monaco or Montenegro? A French CdS is only good for living in France, it doesn't give you residence rights anywhere else.

David-K-1024232 1646137521

I was thinking to spend time in my country which is outside EU. I don't think I need any particular reason for that because this is my original country of citizenship. Though I'm not sure now.

If I move to Montenegro or Monaco, then I will probably have to apply for their residency, rent an apartment there and really stay there, not just pretend stay. But in this case I'll lose French titre de sejour (which I won't regret given their tax burden)

Mad-Hatter-1017809 1646223337

Normally you can spend as long as you like in your own country ie country of nationality.